#132 Prisms

A stunning panoply of musical traditions and compositional voices closes the 2021-22 season. Abels’ Global Warming paints a vast futuristic desert next to a joyful dance of interwoven musical traditions. Price’s fourth symphony sings echoes of spirituals, antebellum dances and organ hymns together with lush harmonies and orchestral colors that only she can achieve. And our world premier of a new bass clarinet concerto by Mary Kouyoumdjian, featuring soloist Jeff Anderle, brings one of the 21st century’s most distinctive compositional voices to Minnesota.

  • Michael Abels: Global Warming
  • Mary Kouyoumdjian: “Walking with Ghosts” – Bass Clarinet Concerto
    • Jeff Anderle, clarinet
  • Florence Price: Symphony No. 4 in D Minor

Conducted by Brian Dowdy

Works Performed

  • Abels, Michael, Global Warming
  • Kouyoumdjian, Mary, “Walking with Ghosts” with soloist Jeff Anderle, Clarinet
  • Price, Florence, Symphony No. 4 in D Minor with soloist Jeff Anderle, Clarinet

Dates Performed

  • June 4, 2022