#122 “Crossings” (Cancelled due to Covid-19)

Shimmering colors and unforgettable melodies flow from three works that challenged contemporary notions of the “traditional” and the “new.” Playfulness and groove drive Libby Larsen’s Overture for the End of a Century, juxtaposing the traditional sounds of 20th century orchestral music with orchestral invocations of mixing boards, computer screens and synthesizers.

The pastorale sounds of Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World” interweave with melodies inspired by Native American music and the rhythmic idioms of from Czech music. Finally our incomparable guest artists, Korey Konkol and Stephanie Arado, captivate us with melodic virtuosity in Bruch’s Double Concerto in E Minor.

Conducted by Brian Dowdy

Works Performed

  • Libby Larsen, Overture for the End of a Century
  • Max Bruch, Double Concerto in E Minor, Op. 88 with soloist Stephanie Arado, violin and Korey Konkol, viola
  • Antonin Dvořák, Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, “From the New World”

Dates Performed

  • March 14, 2020